Southland Announces 2019 Preseason All-Conference Soccer Teams

first_img MF Sophia Fondren* Stephen F. Austin Jr. Frisco, Texas The Wildcats have four automatic first-team selections in returning all-conference players Michelle Mulrooney, Shay Johnson, Christina Arteaga and Rachel Johnson, and senior defender Brooke Lenz was voted to her first team spot. ACU had a trio voted to the second team in graduate midfielder Sophie Standifer, senior forward Sam Vestal and sophomore defender Alyssia Anuat, the 2018 Southland Conference Freshman of the Year. D Michelle Mulrooney* Abilene Christian Sr. Lodi, Calif. GK Rachel Johnson* Abilene Christian R-Sr. Coppell, Texas Second Team F Lucy Ashworth Lamar Jr. Wigan, England MF Hadley Dickinson* Central Arkansas Jr. Cabot, Ark. MF Shay Johnson* Abilene Christian Sr. Coppell, Texas MF Anika Sultan Central Arkansas Jr. Dallas, Texas FRISCO, Texas – The Southland Conference announced its 2019 Soccer Preseason All-Conference Teams on Wednesday. Defending league tournament champion Abilene Christian leads the way with eight selections. GK Emma Roccaforte McNeese Jr. Nederland, Texas MF Rachel Palet* McNeese Sr. Plano, Texas D Megan Rickert Houston Baptist R-Jr. Round Rock, Texas D Keely Morrow McNeese Jr. Nevada, Texas F Katie Jennings Stephen F. Austin Sr. Austin, Texas D Carli Arthurs Stephen F. Austin Sr. Lewisville, Texas McNeese garnered six spots on the teams, including four voted on to the second team. Central Arkansas followed with five total picks and three selections on the second team. Stephen F. Austin placed two on each squad, and Lamar placed one on each team. F Connie Awuku-Darkoh* Central Arkansas Sr. Surrey, British Columbia D Alyssia Anuat Abilene Christian So. San Diego, Calif. The 2019 season gets underway Thursday, Aug. 22, with four matches: Houston at Sam Houston State (6:30 p.m.), Prairie View A&M at Houston Baptist (7 p.m.), Northwestern State at North Texas (7 p.m.) and Oklahoma State at Lamar (7:30 p.m.). Central Arkansas is set to host the 2019 Southland Conference Soccer Tournament Nov. 6-10 at the Bill Stephens Track & Soccer Complex in Conway, Ark.center_img Conference tournament finalist Stephen F. Austin has one automatic first-team nod in junior midfielder Sophia Fondren. Senior defender Carli Arthurs was voted on to the squad to also represent the Ladyjacks. The preseason all-conference first team was rounded out by Houston Baptist’s Megan Rickert and Lamar’s Madison Ledet. First Team MF Katelyn Termini Stephen F. Austin Jr. Frisco, Texas D Brooke Lenz Abilene Christian Sr. Spring, Texas McNeese and Central Arkansas each placed two on the first team. The Cowgirls earned two automatic first-team spots in senior midfielder Rachel Palet and junior forward Havana Johnson. The Bears are represented by returning all-league honorees Hadley Dickinson, a junior defender, and senior forward Connie Awuku-Darkoh, the 2018 Southland Conference Newcomer of the Year. D Rebecca Adcock McNeese Sr. Bryan, Texas D Gracie Hair Central Arkansas So. Tulsa, Okla. F Christina Arteaga* Abilene Christian Jr. Pflugerville, Texas F Anna Watson McNeese Jr. Spring, Texas * Automatic selection – Returning 2018 all-conference member Returning players from the 2018 All-Conference First and Second teams are automatically named to the 2019 Preseason All-Conference teams at their same positions. Second team players are elevated to first team if the first team slot is vacated by a non-returning player at their same position. Vacant positions are nominated and voted upon by the conference’s head coaches. Voting for one’s own player is not permitted. MF Taylor Webb Central Arkansas So. Lindale, Texas Pos. Name School Class Hometown F Madison Ledet Lamar Jr. Nederland, Texas F Sam Vestal Abilene Christian Sr. Odessa, Texas F Havana Johnson* McNeese Jr. Coeur d’Alene, Idaho Pos. Name School Class Hometown MF Sophie Standifer Abilene Christian Gr. Southlake, Texaslast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *