Human Rights Task Force to hold first meeting

Brock University’s new Human Rights Task Force has now been established, and the group will hold its inaugural meeting this Thursday, July 7 in Cairns 207 at 3 pm.  Members of the Brock community are welcome to attend.The Task Force, created by a directive last March from then-president Jack Lightstone, was established to improve and advance human rights at Brock. The Task Force will provide recommendations to the incoming President to improve Brock’s human rights policies, processes, services and supports.The membership of the Task Force was drawn from an open call for nominations from the Brock community. Members were appointed by Lightstone, in consultation with numerous campus stakeholders, including the University’s labour unions, the Graduate Student Association and the Brock University Student Union.The Task Force consists of:• Chair — Anna Lathrop, Vice-Provost, Teaching and Learning• Vice-Chair — to be selected by the Task Force• Students — Aniqah Zowmi (undergraduate), LeeAnn Cayer and Samantha MacAndrew (graduate students)• Faculty members — Margot Francis, Ingrid Makus, Dolana Mogadime• Staff members — Andrew Bassingthwaighte, Brad Clarke, Sandra Wong• Faculty Dean – Tom Dunk• External member – Julie Rorison, member, YWCA Niagara board of directorsThe group’s Terms of Reference can be found on a new web page that has been created to publicly report on the progress of the Task Force. The mandate includes making recommendations regarding:Renewal and harmonization of all policies and procedures that impact human rights at Brock;Building awareness of human rights obligations and culture at Brock;Enhancing diversity and inclusivity within the Brock community; andThe organization, staffing and resources of Brock’s human rights office.The first meeting will encompass the process and schedule to be followed by the Task Force and will include a broad discussion on human rights.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *